Hyundai Mercury Prize 2021 shortlist unveiled

The 12 albums shortlisted for this year's Mercury Prize, including Number 1 records from Celeste, Mogwai and Wolf Alice.

The Hyundai Mercury Prize 2021 shortlist has been unveiled.

As always, 12 albums have been shortlisted for the prestigious award, which aims to highlight the most exciting and innovative music released over the past year.

A mix of established acts and artists yet to hit the mainstream are up for this year's award, including debut albums for Brit Award winners Celeste (Not Your Muse) and Arlo Parks (Collapsed In Sunbeams). 

As well as Celeste, two more albums on this year's shortlist have reached Number 1 on the Official Albums Chart: Mogwai's As The Love Continues, and Wolf Alice's Blue Weekend - the band's third nomination following their win in 2018 with Visions Of A Life.

Meanwhile, soul-pop star Laura Mvula also picks up her third Mercury nod with her third album Pink Noise. 

Following today's shortlist reveal, the 2021 awards show will take place on Thursday, September 9 at London's Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith and will feature live performances from many of the shortlisted artists. 

Hyundai Mercury Prize 2021 shortlist

Arlo Parks – Collapsed In Sunbeams


Black Country, New Road – For the First Time

Celeste – Not Your Muse

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises

Ghetts – Conflict Of Interest

Hannah Peel – Fir Wave

Laura Mvula – Pink Noise

Mogwai – As the Love Continues

Nubya Garcia – SOURCE 

SAULT – Untitled (Rise) 

Wolf Alice – Blue Weekend

Representing UK rap on the shortlist are East London artist Berwyn with his debut collection Demotape/Vega, and Ghetts with his third studio record Conflict Of Interest. Jazz acts Nubya Garcia and Floating Points also pick up a nod each, as does neo-soul collective Sault with their fourth record Untitled (Rise).

Albums by British artists with a UK release date between 18 July 2020 and 16 July 2021 are eligible for the 2021 Prize. This year's judging panel is: Anna Calvi (musician/songwriter); Annie Mac (broadcaster/DJ); Danielle Perry (broadcaster/writer); Gemma Cairney (broadcaster/DJ); Hazel Wilde (musician/songwriter); Jamie Cullum (musician/broadcaster;) Michael Kiwanuka (musician/songwriter); Mike Walsh (music consultant); Phil Alexander (Kerrang!/Mojo); Tshepo Mokoena (Vice); Will Hodgkinson (The Times) and Jeff Smith (BBC Radio 6 Music/Radio 2).

BBC Music will be providing coverage of the ceremony in September across TV, radio, online and social media. 

Look back through at every Mercury Prize winner ever below:

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?



🧡 oliviasnoodles 🍜


blue weekend!!


Angry UK Chart Fan


Some meh nominations like BERWYN and Ghetts and Celeste.

Everything Everything and Royal Blood had more interesting (and deserving) releases than them. But of course they're probably "too pop" for the Mercury's and these "judges" needed some UK Rap (BERWYN, Ghetts) for the sake of having them.




Damm this is a good list, pretty much all of these are great. :)

Here’s how I’d rank them:

1: For the first time (10/10) (my actual AOTY right now)
2: Promises (9/10)
3: Collapsed In Sunbeams (8/10)
4: Untitled (Rise) (8/10)
5: Conflict Of Interest (8/10)
6: Not Your Muse (8/10)
7: Pink Noise (8/10)
8: Fir Wave (7/10)
9: Blue Weekend (7/10)
10: As The Love Continues (7/10)
11: SOURCE (7/10)
12: DEMOTAPE/VEGA (7/10)