Elton John announces new album The Lockdown Sessions, featuring Nicki Minaj, Lil Nas X, and Stevie Wonder

The Lockdown Sessions will be released on October 22.

Elton John has announced details of his new album, featuring some of the biggest names and current stars of pop

The Lockdown Sessions - released on October 22 via EMI - was recorded remotely over the past 18 months and features collaborations with artists across the music spectrum - from Nicki Minaj, Lil Nas X and Miley Cyrus, to Stevie Wonder, Stevie Nicks and Brandi Carlile. 

The album includes current single Cold Heart (Pnau Remix) with Dua Lipa, which recently became Elton's first Top 40 entry on the Official UK Singles Chart in 12 years. 

Other previously released songs on the collection include Rina Sawayama duet Chosen Family, It's A Sin with Years & Years, and Nothing Else Matters with Miley Cyrus.

"The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album," Elton said. "But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up. Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before. Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens.

MORE: Big albums still to come in 2021

He continuied: "But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realised there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late 60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast."

The Lockdown Sessions will available on CD, three different coloured cassettes and 2LP vinyl, plus digital formats. The album is Elton's first studio record since 2016's Wonderful Crazy Night, which peaked at Number 6 on the Official Albums Chart.

Elton John - The Lockdown Sessions tracklisting 

1. Elton John & Dua Lipa – Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)
2. Elton John, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj – Always Love You
3. Surfaces feat. Elton John – Learn To Fly
4. Elton John & Charlie Puth – After All
5. Rina Sawayama & Elton John – Chosen Family
6. Gorillaz feat. Elton John & 6LACK – The Pink Phantom
7. Elton John & Years & Years – It's a sin (global reach mix)
8. Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith – Nothing Else Matters
9. Elton John & SG Lewis – Orbit
10. Elton John & Brandi Carlile – Simple Things
11. Jimmie Allen & Elton John – Beauty In The Bones
12. Lil Nas X feat. Elton John – One Of Me 
13. Elton John & Eddie Vedder – E-Ticket
14. Elton John & Stevie Wonder – Finish Line
15. Elton John & Stevie Nicks – Stolen Car
16. Glen Campbell & Elton John – I’m Not Gonna Miss You 

Article image credit: Gregg Kemp (Elton John)

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?



Angry UK Chart Fan


Wonderful album name. *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap*

Might as call the next album Songs In Qu*r*ntine!