Girls Aloud Sound of the Underground Deluxe Edition 20th anniversary album re-release: tracklist, formats and more

The group announce brand-new formats and bonus material to mark 20 years of their debut LP

Girls Aloud are set to reissue a Deluxe Edition of their debut album Sound of the Underground, 20 years after its original release.

Kimberley Walsh, Nadine Coyle, Cheryl Tweedy, Nicola Roberts and the late Sarah Harding released their first LP off the back of winning TV talent show Popstars: The Rivals in May 2003; holding its Christmas Number 1 title track, No Good Advice, Life Got Cold and - later - Jump.

Now, to mark the album's 20th anniversary, the group will re-release the record across brand-new formats, with some alternative Girls Aloud material from the Xenomania vaults included on the repackage. Sound Of The Underground (Alternative Vocal Mix) will also be available on streaming services from midnight Thursday April 27.

Oh, and they've opted for the iconic original artwork for the release, too. A win for Bacofoil fans everywhere.

MORE: The Official Top 40 biggest albums of 2023 so far REVEALED

Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground (Deluxe Edition) 20th anniversary tracklisting:

See the full tracklist for the reissue below:

Disc 1 - Original 15-track album

Disc 2

  1. Sound Of The Underground (Alternative Vocal Mix)
  2. Jump
  3. Girls On Film
  4. Lights, Music, Camera, Action
  5. On A Round
  6. No Good Advice (Explicit)
  7. Sacred Trust
  8. Life Got Cold (Radio Edit)
  9. Grease
  10. Hopelessly Devoted To You
  11. Some Kind Of Miracle (Single Version)
  12. You Freak Me Out
  13. No Good Advice (Original Demo)
  14. Stay Another Day

Disc 3

  1. Sound Of The Underground (Instrumental Breakdown Mix)
  2. Girls Allowed
  3. Some Kind Of Miracle (Illicit Mix)
  4. Life Got Cold (Stella Browne Vocal Mix)
  5. No Good Advice (Dreadzone Vocal Mix)
  6. Jump (Almighty Vocal Mix)
  7. Sound Of The Underground (Flip & Fill Mix)
  8. Life Got Cold (29 Palms Remix Edit)
  9. No Good Advice (Flip & Fill Mix)
  10. Jump (Flip & Fill Mix)
  11. No Good Advice (Doublefunk Vocal Mix)
  12. Girls Allowed (Almighty Vocal Mix)

Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground reissue release date: when is it out?

The new version of the album will be released on June 16.

WATCH Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground in 4K below:

What formats will Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground be available on?

The classic album will be released as 3 CD deluxe edition featuring two bonus discs of B-sides, rarities and remixes, alongside a 24-page booklet with brand-new sleeve notes and unseen photos.

The album will also be available on vinyl for the very first time on both green coloured vinyl and a limited edition picture disc. The 3CD track list will also be replicated on streaming and digital across all platforms.

MORE: Girls Aloud's whole lotta Official Charts history

This comes after Kimberley Walsh recently teased the release of some previously-unheard Girls Aloud music.

Speaking to MailOnline, she said: "We’ve got some fun alternative versions of songs lying around and little re-releases just to kind of mark that because, you know, it’s a big deal.

"20 years is a long time and the love that we still feel for Sound of the Underground and some of the songs from the first album are still huge. So it still feels like something to celebrate, but in a kind of sort of discreet way, I guess."

LISTEN to Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground (Alternative Vocal Mix):

Kimberley also explained that, following the tragic death of band member Sarah Harding in September 2021, the group feel it most appropriate to mark their 20th anniverary with re-issued music, as opposed to a large-scale reunion.

She said: "We’re not really doing anything together as a group for obvious reasons. I think there’s already been one re-release of Sound of the Underground with different girls singing different lyrics, which is quite fun."

Girls Aloud's Sound of the Underground (Deluxe Edition) re-issue is available from June 16 2023.

NOW check out fun facts you (probably) never knew about Girls Aloud:

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?



Andrew Brown


Always amazed how Nicola hardly got any solo coverage in the video