Spice Girls announce Spice 25, an expanded edition of their debut album with previously unheard songs

An expanded edition of Spice Girls' debut album also features previously unheard demos and mixes.

Spice Girls are celebrating the 25th anniversary of their debut album with a reissue featuring previously unreleased songs, demos and mixes. 

Spice 25 is out on October 29, almost exactly 25 years after the release of their debut album on November 4, 1996. 

The collection includes the album's original 10 songs, plus previously unreleased demos and mixes, including the 7-inch radio mix of the record's second single Say You'll Be There - released today - where the familiar harmonica solo is replaced by a saxophone.

The expanded edition also includes two previously unheard songs, One Of These Girls and Shall We Say Goodbye Then?. 

MORE: Official Top 40 best-selling singles of 1996

Spice 25 tracklisting


1. Wannabe (02:53)
2. Say You’ll Be There (03:56)
3. 2 Become 1 (Single Version) (04:05)
4. Love Thing (03:39)
5. Last Time Lover (04:11)
6. Mama (05:05)
7. Who Do You Think You Are (04:01)
8. Something Kinda Funny (04:05)
9. Naked (04:26)
10. If U Can’t Dance (03:49)


1. Wannabe (Dave Way Alternative Mix) (03:25)
2. Say You’ll Be There (7-inch Radio Mix) (04:09)
3. 2 Become 1 (Orchestral Version) (04:05)
4. Mama (Biffco Mix) (05:49)
5. Love Thing (12-inch Unlimited Groove Mix) (06:25)
6. Take Me Home (04:07)
7. Last Time Lover (Demo) (04:05)
8. Feed Your Love (04:36)
9. If U Can’t Dance (Demo) (03:36)
10. Who Do You Think You Are (Demo) (03:49)
11. One of These Girls (03:33)
12. Shall We Say Goodbye Then? (00:53)

Spice spent 15 weeks at Number 1 on the UK's Official Albums Chart, across four different spells, and logged more than a year in the Top 40. The record's global sales are reportedly 23 million, over 3 million of which are from the UK. 

Emma Bunton said in a statement: "From the first wannabe baby steps to conquering the whole world with a team of Spices, thank you doesn’t seem enough to all of you who have supported us, followed in our footsteps, walked in our great big shoes and who have shared our dreams. It’s been 25 years of pure magic. Spice Girls forever!!!"

Geri Horner added: "To our diehard and loyal fans; without you there is no us – sending endless love and gratitude. Whoever you are, whatever your dreams – live them, be them. The Spice Girls motto is testament to that."

The 2CD release comes in an A5 hardback booklet, with a collection of images plus new messages from the group, and a set of six Spice Girls postcards featuring photographs by Tim Roney, taken in Paris in September 1996. The album will also be released on picture disc, limited edition coloured vinyl and cassettes.

MORE: How Spice Girls' debut Wannabe changed pop

Commenting on the album's milestone anniversary, Melanie C said: "25 years, wow! I have so many wonderful memories of writing, recording, promoting and touring this album and so many people to thank. This is the record that set us off on our incredible journey. A huge thank you to our fans and family all around the World. Thank you for always being there with your unrelenting support and making our dreams come true. My love and gratitude always.”

Melanie B added: "All I ever wanted was to be accepted and to make everyone around me – gay, straight, brown, black, shy or loud like me – to feel they can celebrate who they are and to be free to be themselves. All I hope – 25 years on – is that message has been heard loud and clear. It’s true that in the end love IS all you need so I thank everyone who has ever bought a Spice Girls record or stood in the rain to greet us or got dressed up in pink, in a tracksuit, a ginger wig, a leopard print catsuit or put on Vic’s iconic pout!"

Speaking of which, Victoria Beckham said: "We couldn't let 25 years pass without thanking the fans for their incredible support. There are so many people who have played a part in the success of the Spice Girls throughout the years, you know who you are and we thank you."

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?



Enrique Rocher


Spice Girls take my money! I want all new merchandise. https://media2.giphy.com/media/33HkNekM1cDA54Pm2A/giphy.gif


Dayv Morris


Song with 00:53 seconds?.. Loox like an outro


Fabi Callejas


One of these girls it's on the 2 become 1 single.. it's not unreleased.


thierry henon


OMG! i didn't expect that "new" release but so excited about it!! So looking forward to buy my copy! But they will release it on the 29th October same day as ed sheeran new album so no chance to get it at number 1!! Shame..