AMA UK Americana Awards 2017: Bear's Den and Sturgill Simpson are among this year's nominees

The ceremony takes place in London next February.

The nominees for 2017's AMA UK Americana Awards has been announced.

Taking place on Thursday, February 2, 2017 at St John at Hackney Church in London, the second annual awards will celebrate the very best in UK Americana music, and the country's perception on major international acts within the genre.

The Americana Music Association released details of the nominees at a press event this evening, hosted by singer/songwriter Imelda May and radio personality Baylen Leonard. 

Prizes will be awarded in eight categories including UK Album of the Year, International Album of the Year, UK Instrumentalist of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award, the latter of which is being presented to Richard Thompson OBE.

The Awards will also commemorate one year since the launch of the Official Americana Albums Chart, a joint venture between the Official Charts Company and the Americana Music Association.

MORE: The Official Best Selling Americana Albums of 2015

Richard has been a part of the music industry for over 40 years, his Lifetime Achievement gong sitting alongside similar recognition from BBC Radio back in 2006, and an Ivor Novello Award that he won in 1997. 

Bear's Den are one of the biggest nominees, who will return to the ceremony after performing at last year's inaugural show. They are nominated for UK Artist of the Year following their second studio album Red Earth & Pouring Rain peaking at Number 6 on the Official Albums Chart.

Other nominees include Drive-By Truckers (whose album American Band reached the Official Albums Chart Top 30 in October), Billy Bragg, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Sturgill Simpson. View the full list of nominees below:

UK Album of the Year

Ghost by Lewis & Leigh (produced by Matt Ingram)

Mockingbird Lane by Danni Nicholls (produced by Chris Donohue)

Nos Da Comrade by Peter Bruntnell (produced by Peter Bruntnell)

Palomino by Treetop Flyers (produced by Treetop Flyers)

International Album of the Year

A Sailor’s Guide To Earth by Sturgill Simpson (produced by Sturgill Simpson)

American Band by Drive-By Truckers (produced by David Barbe)

Angeleno by Sam Outlaw (produced by Joachim Cooder and Ry Cooder)

Midwest Farmer's Daughter by Margo Price (produced by Alex Munoz and Matt Ross-Spang)

UK Song of the Year

Mr Sunshine by Peter Bruntnell (written by Peter Bruntnell and Bill Ritchie)

Silver Liner by Ethan Johns & the Black Eyed Dogs (written by Ethan Johns)

Tend To The Thorns by William the Conqueror (written by Ruarri Joseph)

The 4:19 by Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)

International Song of the Year

Dust by Lucinda Williams (written by Lucinda Williams)

Hands of Time by Margo Price (written by Margo Price)

Somebody Save Me by Cale Tyson (written by Cale Tyson)

Welcome To Earth (Pollywog) by Sturgill Simpson (written by Sturgill Simpson)

UK Artist of the Year

Bear’s Den

Billy Bragg

Lewis & Leigh

Yola Carter

Interanational Artist of the Year

Margo Price

Mary Chapin Carpenter

Richmond Fontaine

Sturgill Simpson

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

CJ Hillman

Dave Little

Henry Senior

Kirk Bowman

Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Thompson

More information on the AMA UK Americana Awards 2017 can be found over at the Americana Music Association's official UK Twitter account.