The nominees for the 2018 UK Americana Awards have been announced

Rock star Robert Plant will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at next year's ceremony.

The nominees for the 2018 UK Americana Awards have been announced, with shortlisted artists including Imelda May and The War On Drugs. 

Rock star Robert Plant has been chosen to receive the 2018 UK Americana Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his contribution to the genre over the span of his career and life in music. 

“The award is our highest honour and it couldn’t be going to a more deserving recipient,” said Stevie Freeman, CEO Americana Music Association UK.

“Over the course of a legendary career, from his early love of blues and rock ’n’ roll, through the ’70s with rock pioneers Led Zeppelin, to a solo career that has never stood still, Robert Plant has introduced countless millions of music lovers to American roots music.

“In 2007 he released the iconic Raising Sand album with bluegrass star Alison Krauss, creating new fusions in the Americana world and garnering six Grammys along the way. His latest album, Carry Fire, continues to combine elements of American roots and blues with folk styles from the UK and beyond.”

Meanwhile, the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award will be given to London quartet The Wandering Hearts, who released their debut single Wish I Could earlier this year. 

To celebrate the second anniversary of the Official Americana Albums Chart - posted weekly here on - the best-selling album in the genre of 2017 will also be given a special award. 

Next year's UK Americana Awards take place at London's Hackney Empire on February 1. Robert Plant and The Wandering Hearts are among the performers confirmed for the event. 

INTERVIEW: Imelda May on ditching her trademark sound and image on new album

The full list of nominees for the 2018 UK Americana Awards are:

UK Album of the Year
Brilliant Light by Danny & The Champions of The World (produced by Chris Clarke)
I’ll Make The Most Of My Sins by Robert Vincent (produced by Robert Vincent, Michael Gay and Etienne Girard)
Proud Disturber Of The Peace by William The Conqueror (produced by Ruarri Joseph and Harry Harding)
Sweet Kind Of Blue by Emily Barker (produced by Matt Ross-Spang)

International Album of the Year
A Deeper Understanding by The War On Drugs (produced by Adam Granduciel)
Honest Life by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Courtney Marie Andrews)
So You Want To Be An Outlaw by Steve Earle & The Dukes (produced by Richard Bennett)
The Nashville Sound by Jason Isbell (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year
Devon Brigade by Police Dog Hogan (written by James Studholme)
Endless Road by Worry Dolls (written by Zoe Nicol, Rosie Jones and Jeff Cohen)
Home by Yola Carter (written by Yola Carter)
Moonshine by Foy Vance (written by Foy Vance)

International Song of the Year
Pa’lante  by Hurray For The Riff Raff  (written by Alynda Segarra and Pedro Pietri)
Ready To Die by Aaron Lee Tasjan (written by Aaron Lee Tasjan)
Thirteen Silver Dollars by Colter Wall (written by Colter Wall)
Tenderheart by Sam Outlaw (written by Sam Outlaw)

UK Artist of the Year
Danni Nicholls
Danny & The Champions of The World
Emily Barker
Laura Marling

International Artist of the Year
Angaleena Presley
Courtney Marie Andrews
Imelda May
Rhiannon Giddens

UK Instrumentalist of the Year
Georgina Leach
Kit Hawes
Harry Harding
Thomas Collison

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?