Norah Jones returns to her jazz roots on new song Carry On - listen

Plus the star reveals details of her sixth album.

Norah Jones makes her return today (August 5) as she releases a new song and announces details of her upcoming album.

The star's sixth studio album is called Day Breaks and will be released on October 7 via Blue Note Records. Here's the artwork and tracklist:

1. Burn
2. Tragedy
3. Flipside
4. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love
5. And Then There Was You
6. Don’t Be Denied
7. Day Breaks
8. Peace
9. Once I Had A Laugh
10. Sleeping Wild
11. Carry On
12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

The collection has been described as a sequel to her multi-million selling debut Come Away With Me, which was released in 2002 and is one of the biggest selling albums in the UK of all time. Her last headline release was 2012's ...Little Broken Hearts, which saw Jones veer into indie-pop territory with producer Danger Mouse at the helm. 

MORE: Look back at Norah Jones' full Official UK Chart history

Trailing the album is Carry On; and with its mellow piano and Jones' cosy and classically smooth vocal, it really does pick up seamlessly from her global-reaching debut. Have a listen below: 

Article image: Rex/Shutterstock