Madness announce new album Theatre of the Absurd Presents C'est la Vie

The group's 13th studio LP is coming in November

Camden Town legends Madness have announced that they will release their 13th studio album, Theatre of the Absurd presents C'est la Vie, on November 17.

The album is their first since 2016's Can't Touch Us Now, which peaked at Number 5 on the Official Albums Chart. Self-produced by the pioneering ska-pop band, Theatre Of the Absurd presents C'est la Vie was written with the governing principle: “Let Madness be Madness."

Along with the announcement, Madness have shared the album's lead single C’est la Vie. Rather iconically, the band have recruited Dame Helen Mirren to give a dramatic reading of its lyrics.

MORE: See where every Madness song and album has charted in the UK

Madness say of the album in a press release: "Well, well, well, here we are.. Our thirteenth album (lucky for some) Theatre of the Absurd Presents C’est la Vie is ready for your ears. For us, recording it was the perfect antidote to the chaos of the past few years - we were all there, properly in the zone. It was just us, in an industrial unit in Cricklewood, playing together. We loved it!"

The full tracklist for Madness's Theatre of the Absurd Presents C'est la Vie is as follows:

1. If I Go Mad

2. Baby Burglar

3. C’est la Vie

4. What On Earth Is It (You Take Me For?)

5. Hour Of Need

6. Round We Go

7. Lockdown and Frack Off

8. Beginners 101

9. Is There Anybody Out There?

10. The Law According to Dr. Kippah

11. Run For Your Life

12. Set Me Free (Let Me Be)

13. In My Street

Madness's impressive Official Charts record since they debuted in 1979 includes 17 Top 10 singles and 10 Top 10 albums so far.

Madness's Theatre of the Absurd Presents C'est la Vie will be released on November 17.

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?