Denise Chaila wins the 2020 RTE Choice Music Prize for Album of the Year with Go Bravely

Find out who also picked up a coveted trophy in the Song of the Year category.

Denise Chaila is the winner of the 2020 RTÉ Choice Music Prize for Album of The Year with Go Bravely.

Chosen by a panel of industry experts today (March 4), Go Bravely was selected to win the coveted trophy, which recognises the best music of the past year from artists and bands from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Denise Chaila beat out competition from the other nominees Ailbhe Reddy, Bitch Falcon, Fontaines D.C., JyellowL, Nealo, Niamh Regan, Pillow Queens, Roísín Murphy, and Silverbacks.

Go Bravely is Chaila's debut mixtape, illustrating her status as one of Ireland's leading rising talents in the spoken word and hip hop genres. Album tracks Chaila and Anseo were Top 10 hits on the Official Irish Homegrown Chart peaking at Numbers 4 and 6 respectively.

MORE: The biggest Irish Homegrown songs and albums released in 2020

The announcement was made by Tracy Clifford and U2's Adam Clayton during the special 2020 RTÉ Choice Music Prize event, broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM and RTÉ Player from Studio 5 at RTÉ Studios. You can replay the show now on RTÉ Player.

Performances from all nominees were played during the broadcast, recorded at Windmill Lane Studios, while Roísín Murphy sent through a special performance recorded from her home in Ibiza, and a clip from Fontaines D.C.'s A Night at Montrose livestream was replayed to showcase their album.

Official Chart host Bláthnaid Treacy will present further Choice Prize coverage on RTÉ2 next Sunday, March 14 at 11:15pm featuring additional performances from and interviews with the shortlisted acts.

Now in its 16th year, the RTÉ Choice Music Prize has celebrated albums from the likes of The Divine Comedy, Two Door Cinema Club, The Gloaming and Villagers. XXX follow in the footsteps of last year's winning act folk group Lankum with their album The Livelong Day.

In the Song of the Year category which was determined by a public vote, Niall Horan was named 2020 champion for his track No Judgement.

Established in 2010, past winners of Song Of The Year include The Script, Westlife, and two-time winners Gavin James and Picture This.