New Order sign with Mute Records for 10th studio album

New Order sign with legendary independent label Mute, who will release their tenth album worldwide.

New Order have signed a new deal with Mute Records ahead of releasing their tenth studio album.

The British electronica band have parted ways with Warner to sign with the legendary independent label; a feeling they've described as like “coming home”.

“We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team,” the group said of their new label and its founder.

"Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways, joining the label feels like we are coming home."

Mute’s roster includes Goldfrapp, Zola Jesus, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Depeche Mode.

Daniel Miller, who founded Mute in 1978, added: "I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history.

"When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order."

New Order’s as-yet-untitled tenth album follows last year’s Lost Sirens and will mark their first release without original bassist Peter Hook.

The group have scored nine Top 40 albums in their career, including Number 1 records Technique (1989) and Republic (1993).