Natalie Imbruglia covers Daft Punk's Instant Crush for new single

The singer reveals details of her new single and fifth studio album.

Natalie Imbruglia has announced details of her new single.

The singer will release Instant Crush as the lead track from her fourth UK studio album (fifth overall), titled Male. 

The song was originally recorded by Daft Punk for their latest album Random Access Memories. 

"On the original version, you can’t really hear what the song is about because of the effect that Julian’s voice has, which I love, by the way," she said.

"However, it is such a beautiful story that I want people to hear it and connect with the words. I’m really proud of the way it turned out." 

Male, which is released in July this year, is a collection of classic and contemporary songs originally performed by men, including Damien Rice, Cat Stevens, Pete Townsend and Zac Brown Band. 

The collection marks Imbruglia's first UK studio album release in ten years, after 2005's chart-topping Counting Down The Days. In 2007 she released her greatest hits album Glorious, which peaked at Number 5. Click here to view her full week-by-week chart history

Listen to Daft Punk's Instant Crush below: