Eurovision 2019: Six acts and songs hoping to represent the UK revealed

Eurovision: You Decide hails from Salford on February 8.

The BBC have revealed the six acts hoping to represent the UK at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv, Isreal.

In a twist this year, rather than six acts performing a unique song each, this year's shortlisted sextet will be split into pairs, with each pairing performing the same song in contrasting musical styles at Eurovision: You Decide, where the public will vote for their favourite. Listen to all of this year's songs here.

The first song, called Bigger Than Us, will be performed by Michael Rice and Holly Tandy. Michael, from Hartlepool, was the winner of the first series of All Together Now, while Holly reached the live finals of Series 14 of The X Factor in 2017.

Bigger Than Us was written by Jonas Thander, the Swedish songwriter, musician and producer who has worked on songs such as Taylor Swift's Shake It Off, Bang Bang by Jessie J, Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj, and Fifth Harmony's That's My Girl.

MORE: The UK's highest charting Eurovision entries

The second track put forward is Freaks; the first version will be sung by Jordan Clarke of former Britain's Got Talent 2013 finalists Luminites, with the alternate take coming from girl group MAID. Freaks was written by Red Triangle, a producer trio who have worked with Cheryl and Little Mix.

Sweet Lies is the final song, to be performed by Kerrie-Anne, who reached Judges' Houses of The X Factor in 2015, and Mancunian singer Anisa, who has supported Ashanti and Ne-Yo on tour. Sweet Lies was written by Lise Cabble who penned Emmelie de Forest's 2013 Eurovision winner Only Teardrops.

Eurovision: You Decide, once again hosted by Mel Giedroyc and 2015 Eurovision winner Mans Zelmerlow, will be broadcast live on BBC Two on February 8 from Media City in Salford. 

The 64th Eurovision Song Contest takes place in Tel Aviv, Isreal. The Semi Finals will be broadcast on May 14 and 16 on BBC Four, and the Grand Final airs May 18 on BBC One.

Look back at every UK Eurovision entry in the gallery below.

View Image Gallery
2018 SuRie - Storm