Jarvis Cocker compares the Brexit vote result to the Official Singles Chart at the 2017 Ivor Novello Awards: "That's not the will of the people"

The Pulp frontman got political is his winner's speech at the 2017 Ivor Novellos.

Never one to shy away from making a political statement, Jarvis Cocker made his feelings towards Brexit very clear when picking up an award at this year's Ivor Novellos.

The Pulp frontman received the Outstanding Song Collection prize at this year's event, which celebrates the best in songwriting and composing.

During his acceptance speech, Jarvis compared the Brexit vote result to the Official Singles Chart, commenting: "There's this thing called Brexit. 52 to 48, right. Well, 52 is the equivalent of going at Number 19 in the pop charts. That's not the will of the people.

""Brexit's a horrible word. It's almost as bad as Britpop."

Almost as controversial as his famous stage invasion at the 1996 BRIT Awards, right? 

To date, Pulp have notched up 12 Top 40 hits on the Official Singles Chart - their first was Do You Remember The First Time?, which peaked at 33 in 1994. Their most successful single, 1995's Common People, topped out at 2. Look back at the Pulp's complete UK chart history here.

Other winners from this year's Ivors include Coldplay, whose track Hymn For The Weekend picked up Most Performed Work, Florence Welch for International achievement and Laura Mvula, whose latest album The Dreaming Room won the Album Award. 

The full list of winner's from the 2017 Ivors are: 

PRS for Music Most Performed Work - Coldplay: Hymn For The Weekend

Best Original Film Score - Dario Marianello: Kubo And The Two Strings

Best Song Musically and Lyrically - Michael Kiwanuka: Black Man In A White World

The Ivors Jazz Award - John Surman

Best Contemporary Song - Skepta | Josh Homme: Man

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music - Anne Dudley

Outstanding Song Collection - Pulp

International Achievement - Florence Welch

Best Television Soundtrack - Martin Philips: War And Peace

Album Award - Laura Mvula: The Dreaming Room

The Ivors Inspiration Award - Gary Numan

Songwriter Of The Year - Skepta

Lifetime Achievement - Nitin Sawhney

PRS for Music Special International Award - Bill Withers

Article image: Rex