Westlife's new album Spectrum will feature "a tip of the hat to Celtic music"

For Westlife's comeback record, the group are paying tribute to the roots of their homeland.

Westlife are being pretty tight-lipped about the tracklist of their new album Spectrum, but Mark Feehily has revealed the group will pay tribute to their Celtic roots on the collection.

Discussing the band's first album in nine years - released on November 8 - Mark said some songs "are still being mixed" so couldn't comment too much on what's in store for fans.

MORE: Westlife's most popular songs in Ireland since their comeback announcement

"One of them is just a very cool tip of the hat to Celtic music," Mark told us. "It’s very contemporary but it’s got a Celtic fusion side to it. I had a song on my album called Sanctuary which sampled Clannad but it had more a pop/hip-hop beat to it. It’s kind of in the same world as that. It’s cool, edgy and contemporary."

Mark recently revealed to us that Spectrum will feature six songs written by Ed Sheeran, including the first three singles: the Number 2-peaking Hello My Love, Top 10 hit Better Man and the Top 20 third cut Dynamite.

MORE: Ireland's Official Top 50 biggest songs of 2019 so far