Westlife sign new record deal and will release new music in 2021

The Irish quartet will return with new music later this year.

Westlife have signed a new record deal and plan to release new music this year. 

Announced on St. Patrick's Day, the Irish group have signed a deal with Warner Music UK label East West Records, which has been home to acts such as The Corrs, Beverley Knight and Simply Red. Westlife's Shane Filan was also signed to them as a solo artist in 2015.

Celebrating the news, Westlife said: "Not only is it St Patrick’s Day but we are also celebrating our brand new partnership with East West and Warner Music. We have found a record label that share the same energy and high ambitions as the four of us, in what will be a very busy year, where there will be some surprise announcements and of course new music!"

MORE: Exciting albums confirmed for release in 2021

Jeremy Marsh, head of Rhino UK and East West Records, added: “Westlife are one of the most popular and commercially successful boy bands of all time, and we’re thrilled to be working with them to share their new music – their fans are going to be blown away by what’s coming!"

Westlife - made up of Shane Filan, Markus Feehily, Kian Egan and Nicky Byrne - have landed eight Number 1s on the Official Albums Chart, most recently with their 2019 comeback album Spectrum - their first record after going on hiatus in 2012. 

The group also have 14 Number 1 singles in the UK, and hold the record for the most consecutive Number 1s in the UK and the most singles to debut at Number 1, at 14. 

MORE: Every UK Number 1 single by Irish acts