The perfect mashup? Cher's Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! has been remixed with Madonna's Hung Up

Is this the perfect mashup?

Could this be the ultimate mashup? Just a few hours after Cher released her rendition of ABBA's Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight), a fan has remixed the song with Madonna's Gimme-sampling smash Hung Up. 

Cher's take the 1979 classic heads up her new album Dancing Queen, a collection of - you've guessed it - ABBA covers, which is out on September 28.

The album includes ten of the quartet's best known songs, including The Winner Takes It All, Waterloo, The Name Of The Game and Fernando, which she performs in the new Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again movie. The track has already entered the Official Singles Chart Top 100, at Number 92. 

"I've always liked Abba and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times," Cher said. "After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking, 'Why not do an album of their music?'.

"The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I'm so happy with how the music came out. I'm really excited for people to hear it. It's a perfect time.”      

Meanwhile, Madonna's 2005 Number 1 hit Hung Up marked a rare moment ABBA cleared a song of theirs to be sampled (another exception was The Fugees' The Name Of The Game-sampling Rumble In The Jungle). 

Anyway, what are you waiting for? Hit play on the remix by Alex Simpson below: 

Check out more of this week's new single and album releases here. The full tracklist for Cher's Dancing Queen album is: 

1. Dancing Queen
2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
3. The Name Of The Game
4. SOS
5. Waterloo
6. Mamma Mia
7. Chiquitita
8. Fernando
9. The Winner Takes It All
10. One Of Us