Surprise! Beyoncé releases new self-titled album overnight

After months of anticipation, the superstar drops new ‘visual album’ without a word of warning, featuring Drake, Jay Z and Frank Ocean.

After months of anticipation, the superstar drops new 'visual album' without a word of warning, featuring Drake, Jay Z, Frank Ocean and even daughter Blue Ivy!

There has been much talk of a new Beyoncé album over the last few months, and fans had resigned themselves to the fact that they were probably going to have to wait until next year for new tracks from Mrs Carter.

Well, Merry Christmas! Beyoncé has beaten Santa by a whole two weeks, releasing a new self-titled album overnight, with no fanfare, no promo, nothing!

The 14-track album, which Beyoncé is calling Part 1 of Self-Titled on Facebook and is styled as BEYONCÉ on iTunes, is a ‘visual album’ meaning every track already has a video – there are also three extra videos for two tracks split into two. There are collaborations with Drake, Frank Ocean, Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and, of course, Him Indoors himself, Mr Beyoncé: Jay Z. Popping up on writing duties are Sia, Justin Timberlake, Pharrell Williams, Timbaland and OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder, whopenned Beyoncé’s huge torch song Halo. And there's another very special guest too: Beyoncé's little girl Blue Ivy pops up on closing track Blue. A new diva has entered the building!

Announcing the new album on her Facebook page, Queen B said: "I see music. It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

Videos were filmed all over the world with big-name directors, including Terry Richardson, Hype Williams and Jonas Åkerland.

No official lead single has been released, but two tracks are expected to be announced next week, according to Billboard. The album is available exclusively on iTunes at first.

Full tracklisting for BEYONCÉ:

Pretty Hurts
Drunk In Love (FT Jay Z)
No Angel
Mine (FT Drake)
***Flawless (FT Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
Superpower (FT Frank Ocean)
Blue (FT Blue Ivy) – yes, really!

There is also a bonus video for Grown Woman.

Watch a preview of Mine, FT Drake