Stevie Wonder releases two new songs and hints at first album in 15 years

The music icon releases two politically charged tracks, harking back to his early works.

Stevie Wonder has released two new songs and hinted at details of his first full-length album in 15 years. 

The tracks - titled Where Is Our Love Song and Can't Put It In The Hands Of Fate - mark Stevie's first new music in four years, and are both a response to the politically charged times.

Can't Put It In The Hands Of Fate rejects the 'all lives matter' response to the Black Lives Matter movement ("You say you believe that ‘all lives matter’ / I say I don’t believe the fuck you do”), and features Busta Rhymes, Cordae and Chika.

In a livestreamed press conference, Stevie unveiled the two songs and hinted that they may feature on a new EP, ahead of a "new project" called Through The Eyes of Wonder, Guardian reports. 

Stevie said the songs are a response to "systemic racism", adding: "We can’t be a united people of the world and have this craziness... Change is right now – we can’t put it in the hands of fate.”

Discussing Where Is Our Love Song, Stevie revealed he first started writing the song aged 18, about “all the confusion, all the hate, the east versus west, left versus right.” All the proceeds from the song will go to the charity Feeding America to provide aid during the coronavirus pandemic.

The new music is being released through Stevie's new record label So What The Fuss Music, marketed and distributed by Republic Records/Universal Music Group, marking an end to his longstanding relationship with Motown Records.

Stevie's last studio album was 2005's A Time 2 Love, his 38th Top 40 album in the UK. Since then he has contributed to albums by Mark Ronson, Celine Dion, and Drake.

MORE: Stevie Wonder's Official UK Chart history in full