Richard Ashcroft announces acoustic album Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 featuring Liam Gallagher

Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 will see The Verve frontman also collaborate with Liam Gallagher.

Richard Ashcroft has announced the release of a new solo album, Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1, this October.

The record will see the Verve frontman deliver acoustic takes of many of his classic songs from both his time in the band and as a solo artist, including Bittersweet Symphony (out now) and the UK Number 1 single The Drugs Don't Work. 

Ashcroft will also collaborate with Liam Gallagher on a stripped-back take of C’mon People (We’re Making It Now). Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 will be released October 29 via RPA/BMG.

The singer-songwriter will also tour in support of the new material, including four sold-out nights at the London Palladium.

MORE: Richard Ashcroft's Official Charts History in full

As a member of Verve, Ashcroft has earned one UK Number 1 single (The Drugs Don't Work) and two UK Number 1 albums (Urban Hymns and Forth). 

1997's Urban Hymns proved to be the band's breakthrough record, containing three Top 10 singles. The album is one of the Top 20 best-selling albums of all time in the UK

Ashcroft went solo after Verve's original breakup in 1999. His first solo single, A Song For Lovers, peaked at Number 3 on the Official Singles Chart in 2000. His first solo record, Alone With Everybody, also reached Number 1 on the Official Albums Chart, and he has a total of five UK Top 10 albums too. 

Richard Ashcroft - Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 tracklist

  1. Bittersweet Symphony
  2. A Song For The Lovers  
  3. Sonnet  
  4. C’mon People (We’re Making It Now) ft. Liam Gallagher
  5. Weeping Willow
  6. Lucky Man 
  7. This Thing Called Life
  8. Space & Time 
  9. Velvet Morning 
  10. Break The Night With Colour  
  11. One Day
  12. The Drugs Don’t Work

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?