Orla Gartland announces debut album Woman on the Internet

Orla will support the LP with three domestic Irish tour dates in December.

Orla Gartland has shared details of her debut album Woman on the Internet.

The Dubliner will release her first LP on Friday August 20, and has previewed the record with new single Do You Mind? out today (June 9).

“Announcing my debut album feels like a moment I've been waiting for for years," Gartland said in a press statement. "Something clicked into place last year - I grew into my role as a producer and lyrically I knew what I wanted to say.

MORE: Albums and EPs to be released in 2021 by homegrown Irish acts

"Although this album was made in 2020 it isn't laced with lockdown blues - it feels more like the soundtrack of new time to me; a sunnier time, a more hopeful time. I'm so proud of this record and beyond excited for everyone to hear it!"

The 11-track alt rock/folk album features the singles Zombie, More Like You and Pretending, the latter pair becoming Top 10 hits on the Official Irish Homegrown Chart, both peaking at Number 8.

Orla Gartland will support Woman on the Internet with a UK & Ireland tour, which culminates in December with shows at Dublin's Academy, Dolans in Limerick, and Cork's Cyprus Avenue. Tour pre-sale - available to those who pre-order the album before June 10 - opens at 10am on Friday June 11. General sale starts on Monday 14th June at 10am.

Orla Gartland's Woman on the Internet tracklisting

1. Things I’ve Learned
2. You’re Not Special, Babe
3. More Like You
4. Over Your Head
5. Zombie!
6. Madison
7. Do You Mind?
8. Codependency
9. Pretending
10. Left Behind
11. Bloodline/Difficult Things

Orla Gartland 2021 UK & Ireland tour dates

Wednesday October 6 - SWX, Bristol
Thursday October 7 - The O2 Academy 2, Birmingham
Saturday October 9 - Manchester Academy 2, Manchester
Sunday October 10 - The Riverside, Newcastle
Tuesday October 12 - The Garage, Glasgow
Wednesday October 13 - Stylus, Leeds
Friday October 15 - Electric Ballroom, London
Sunday October 17 - Concorde 2, Brighton
Thursday December 16 - Academy, Dublin
Friday December 17 - Dolans, Limerick
Saturday December 18 - Cyprus Avenue, Cork

© IRMA | Image: Karina Barberis