One Direction on course for 2nd Number 1 on the Official Singles Chart

Plus: Snow Patrol steal lead on JLS in the Official Albums Chart race.

One Direction are on track to bag their second Official Number 1 single in as many months, according to today’s Official Chart Update

Stealing an early lead over last week’s chart topper, Rihanna’s ‘We Found Love’ (2), Simon Cowell’s X Factor 2010 signings are hitting the right note with fans with second single ‘Gotta Be You’, the follow up to debut Number 1 single ‘What Makes You Beautiful’.  Their debut remains the fastest-selling single of the year, selling nearly 154,000 copies in its first week of sale in September this year.  ‘Gotta Be You’is taken from One Direction’s forthcoming debut album ‘Up All Night’, due for release November 21.

US rapper Flo Rida is the second highest new entry in today’s Official Singles Chart Update with new single ‘Good Feeling’,taken from fourth studio album ‘Only One Rida (Part 2)’.  This will mark Flo Rida’s fourth solo Top 10 single and sixth Top 10 single overall.

The Saturdays have their eyes on claiming their 11th Top 20 single with ‘My Heart Takes Over’(12), whileelsewhere, Westlife are back with their final single after the recent announcement of their split. ‘Lighthouse’,penned by Gary Barlow, is the lead single from their forthcoming ‘Greatest Hits’ compilation album, due for release November 21. Lighthouse enters today’s Update at Number 20.

Over on the Official Albums Chart, Indie rockers Snow Patrol topple Susan Boyle and hold off JLS the top spot in today’s Update.  New album ‘Fallen Empires’ is the Northern Irish band’s sixth studio album, and could be their first Number 1 album since 2006’s ‘Eyes Open’.

Former X Factor stars JLS are at Number 2 with their third studio album, ‘Jukebox’, which features the Number 1 smash, 'She Makes Me Wanna’.
A glance at the highest new entries in the Official Albums Chart Update sees Drake back with his second studio album – ‘Take Care’takes up position inside the Top 5 at Number 4 today.  Pixie Lott’s‘Young Foolish Happy’ (14), Andrea Bocelli’s ‘Concerto’(18) and REM’s ‘Part Lies Part Heart Part Truth Part Garbage’ (19), complete today’s Top 20 new entries.

Official Singles Chart Update Top 10
01 Gotta Be You - One Direction
02 We Found Love - Rihanna Ft Calvin Harris
03 Good Feeling - Flo Rida
04 Earthquake - Labrinth Ft Tinie Tempah
05 Lego House - Ed Sheeran
06 Jar Of Hearts - Christina Perri
07 Take A Chance On Me - JLS
08 Without You - David Guetta Ft Usher
09 Read All About It - Professor Green Ft Emeli Sande
10 Moves Like Jagger - Maroon 5 Ft Christina Aguilera

Official Albums Chart Update Top 10
01 Fallen Empires - Snow Patrol
02 Jukebox - JLS
03 Christmas - Michael Buble
04 Take Care - Drake
05 Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay
06 Ceremonials - Florence & The Machine
07 Someone To Watch Over Me - Susan Boyle
08 21 - Adele
09 + - Ed Sheeran
10 Sticks & Stones - Cher Lloyd

One Direction - Gotta Be You on MUZU.