Markus Feehily announces debut solo album Fire

The singer describes the collection as the "complete polar opposite of what I was doing in Westlife.

Former Westlife singer Markus Feehily has announced details of his debut solo album, insisting that it's "the complete polar opposite of what I was doing in Westlife."

The singer's first solo album is called Fire and is out on October 16 through Harmony Entertainment via Kobalt Label Services.

The collection includes his former single Love Is A Drug, as well as collaborations with producers Mojam (Emeli Sande, Sam Smith), Jim Eliot (Ellie Goulding, Olly Murs), Jakwob (Kyla La Grange) and Nexus (Lana Del Rey, Hurts). See the artwork and tracklisting below: 

1. Love Is A Drug
2. Wash the Pain Away
3. Butterfly
4. Cut You Out
5. Sanctuary
6. Back To Yours
7. Sirens
8. Simple Love
9. Only You
10. Love Me Or Leave Me Alone
11. Casablanca

"Calling my album Fire is a two sided thing," he said. "Fire represents the dark times I went through while writing the album, but also my actual song Fire from the deluxe album is about finding new love and having the strength to pull through the tough times. So it has both positive and negative sides to it just like actual fire."

Discussing his years in the music business with Westlife, he said: "You might think someone who’s had a 15-year career in music would think they’ve done it all. But I feel there’s so much I want to do that I haven’t done yet.

"That idea makes me feel as young as I did when I was starting out in Westlife. I’m really driven. I’m excited. And I’m ready to stand up and take charge". 

Watch a behind the scenes video of the making of Fire below: