James confirm new album Living in Extraordinary Times

Their last album was held off the Number 1 by Adele. Will they go one better this time around?

James have announced their brand new album Living in Extraordinary Times.

The Mancunian band's new record will be released on August 3, and comes just over two years after their highest charting recording in nearly twenty years, the Number 2-peaking Girl at the End of the World.

The album references the band's feelings that following recent events, it felt like they were living in an alternate universe. Lead vocalist Tim Booth explains: "We knew something was up when Leicester city won the league then Brexit, then Trump. It is as if we'd slipped into an alternate reality, a Philip K Dick reality. We are living in extraordinary times.”

Living in Extraordinary Times will be available in CD, download, cassette, and heavyweight double vinyl formats, the latter being available in a special white pressing from the group's online store, and in magenta at independent retailers, and HMV.

Click here to view James' full UK chart history, including 19 UK Top 40 singles and 8 UK Top 10 albums. 

The deluxe tracklisting for James' 15th studio album Living in Extraordinary Times is as follows:

  1. Hank
  2. Coming Home (Pt.2)
  3. Leviathan
  4. Heads
  5. Many Faces
  6. How Hard The Day
  7. Extraordinary Times
  8. Picture Of This Place
  9. Hope To Sleep
  10. Better Than That
  11. Mask
  12. What’s It All About
  13. Backward Glances (bonus track)
  14. Moving Car (demo)
  15. Overdose (demo)
  16. Trouble (demo)