Genesis announce 2020 reunion tour dates: "It's a natural moment"

The band will play their first shows in 13 years in November/December.

Rock band Genesis have reformed for a tour - their first together in 13 years. 

Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford announced their reunion on BBC Radio 2's Breakfast Show with Zoe Ball, with Tony describing their reforming as "a natural moment". 

"We're all good friends, we're all above grass and... here we are," he added.

The band, whose hits include Invisible Touch, Land of Confusion and I Can't Dance, launch their Last Domino? tour in Dublin on 16 November. The tour will head across the UK, including two shows at London's O2 Arena, before wrapping up in Glasgow on December 11. 

Tickets for the UK tour go on sale on Friday, March 6 at 9am. Dublin's general on-sale is on Monday, March 9.

The trio will be joined on stage by Phil's son Nic Collins on drums, and the band's long time guitar and bass player Daryl Stuermer. Founding member Peter Gabriel, who left the group in 1975, and guitarist Steve Hackett, will not be taking part.

Phil told Zoe Ball the band were still working out the setlist for the gigs, adding: "There are songs that you feel you have to play because the audience would feel cheated if you didn't. "We're still working out what the order will be."

Genesis began as a prog-rock band in the 1970s. After a series of line-up changes, their sound evolved and they became one of the most commericially successful rock bands of the 1980s.

The band have landed 19 Top 10s on the UK's Official Albums Chart, six of which went all the way to Number 1. They have reportedly sold over 100 million record worldwide. View Genesis' Official UK Chart history in full.

Geneis last played together in 2007 to mark their 40th anniversary, playing together on their global Turn It On Again: The tour.

Genesis - The Last Domino? tour dates

Monday 16th November - Dublin 3 Arena
Thursday 19th November - Belfast SSE Arena
Monday 23rd November - Liverpool M&S Bank Arena
Thursday 26th November - Newcastle Utilita Arena
Sunday 29th November - London The O2
Monday 30th November - London The O2
Wednesday 2nd December - Leeds First Direct Arena
Saturday 5th December - Birmingham Utilita Arena
Tuesday 8th December - Manchester Manchester Arena
Friday 11th December - Glasgow SSE Hydro

Newly added dates

Tuesday 24th November - Liverpool M&S Bank Arena
Friday 27th November - Newcastle Utilita Arena
Thursday 3rd December - Leeds First Direct Arena
Sunday 6th December - Birmingham Utilita Arena
Wednesday 9th December - Manchester Manchester Arena
Saturday 12th December - Glasgow SSE Arena

Article image: Patrick Balls-Martin Griffin