Eurovision 2020: UK entry announced as James Newman's My Last Breath

James Newman will represent the UK at this year's Eurovision Song Contest on May 16.

The UK’s entry for the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest has been announced as James Newman. The British singer-songwriter will fly the flag for the UK with his song My Last Breath.

The track will battle it out for this year's Eurovision crown on May 16. Listen below:

MORE: Can you avoid "nul points" in our Eurovision quiz?

In contrast to recent years, where the UK's Eurovision entry was chosen via the public-voted show Eurovision: You Decide, My Last Breath was selected by the BBC in partnership with record label BMG, who shared the vision of "selecting a song with broad international appeal and securing an artist who embodies the spirit and values of the Eurovision Song Contest."

MORE: Eurovision's highest-charting songs in the UK

To get you up to speed on James, here are seven essential facts about the singer-songwriter and this year’s UK Eurovision entry:

  • James has co-written two Number 1s on the Official Singles Chart: Calvin Harris’s Blame ft. John Newman from 2014 and Waiting All Night by Rudimental ft. Ella Eyre – a 2013 chart-topper that won a BRIT Award for Best Single.

  • In fact, James is a regular collaborator with Rudimental. He co-wrote a handful of tracks on their second album We The Generation, including Top 20 hit Lay It All On Me ft. Ed Sheeran.

  • It's not just a happy coincidence, James Newman is John Newman's older brother.

  • He has Eurovision experience, writing Ireland’s 2017 bid Dying To Try by Brendan Murray. The song didn’t make it past the semi-finals, but we’ll pass over this given the UK is automatically through to the finals.  

  • My Last Breath was co-written with Ed Drewett, Adam Argyle and Iain James. Iain co-wrote Azerbaijan's Eurovision winner in 2011, Running Scared by Ell & Nikki.

  • Other hit songs James has written for other artists are: Jess Glynne’s All I Am (Number 7, 2018), Matoma & Becky Hill’s False Alarm (Number 28, 2016), and Little Mix’s Love Me Like You (Number 11, 2015).

  • He’s also written songs for several hugely successful pop albums, including Jess Glynne’s I Cry When I Laugh and Always In Between, Olly Murs’s 24 HRS, Kesha’s Rainbow and Louis Tomlinson’s Walls.

James Newman will compete in the Eurovision Song Contest final in Rotterdam on May 16. He doesn’t exactly have a big act to follow from last year, where Michael Rice finished last place with Bigger Than Us.

MORE: Where every UK Eurovision entry has reached on the Official Singles Chart

Remind yourself of every UK Eurovision entry ever below: 

View Image Gallery
2022 Sam Ryder  - SPACE MAN