Elvis Presley's The Searcher documentary soundtrack to be released in April

Essential Elvis hits and rare alternative versions of his big songs will feature on the collection.

A new Elvis Presley soundtrack album is being released this April.

Elvis Presley: The Searcher is a three-hour, two-part documentary film being broadcast on HBO in America on April 14, while the doc's soundtrack, described as a "curated portrait of an artist", will be released a week prior on April 6. Details of a UK transmission for the film are coming soon.

Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack) features 18 of Elvis's most iconic songs, plus alternative versions of some of his trademark hits and live performances. Each song emphasises the story of Elvis' rise in notoriety, from his country-influenced early music to the songs that made him a pop music icon in the mid 1970s.

The standard edition of the album will be available on digital, CD and 2LP vinyl formats, while a 3CD collectable box set features a further 37 songs, including Mike McCready of Pearl Jam's original score of songs that inspired Elvis himself. The deluxe version also comes with a 40-page photography book. 

Elvis Presley: The Searcher's director Thom Zimny said: "The soundtrack was in my mind from the beginning. I wasn't just making a film, I was thinking about the collection of recordings I would gather for a person who saw the film, who wanted to complete the experience, just as I always had.

"Thankfully, our friends at Sony gave me and the Searcher team the chance to create this collection. It's been in my mind for years now. To me, this collection is part of the film."

The tracklist for Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack):

CD/Digital version:

1. Trouble / Guitar Man
2. My Baby Left Me
3. That's All Right
4. Baby Let's Play House
5. Heartbreak Hotel
6. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
7. Hound Dog
8. Crawfish
9. Mona Lisa
10. Milky White Way
11. Like A Baby
12. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
13. It's Now Or Never
14. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
15. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
16. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
17. Hurt (take 5)
18. If I Can Dream

Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack) – 3CD Deluxe Box Set

Disc 1

1. Trouble / Guitar Man
2. My Baby Left Me
3. Baby, What You Want Me To Do
4. Old Shep
5. That's When Your Heartaches Begin
6. That's All Right
7. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
8. Fool, Fool, Fool
9. Tweedlee Dee
10. Baby Let's Play House
11. Good Rockin' Tonight
12. Trying To Get To You
13. Blue Moon
14. When It Rains It Pours
15. Blue Christmas
16. Heartbreak Hotel
17. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
18. Money Honey
19. Hound Dog
20. (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
21. Crawfish
22. Trouble
23. Farther Along
24. Mona Lisa
25. Hide Thou Me
26. Loving You (end title take 16)
27. Lonely Man (solo version)
28. Power Of My Love

Disc 2

1. Milky White Way
2. A Mess Of Blues
3. Fame And Fortune
4. Love Me Tender / Witchcraft (duet with Frank Sinatra)
5. Like A Baby
6. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
7. It's Now Or Never
8. Wooden Heart
9. Swing Down Sweet Chariot
10. Reconsider Baby
11. Bossa Nova Baby
12. C'mon Everybody
13. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
14. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
15. Run On
16. Baby What You Want Me To Do
17. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
18. Baby Let's Play House (rehearsal)
19. Words (rehearsal)
20. That's All Right
21. Never Been To Spain
22. An American Trilogy
23. You Gave Me A Mountain
24. Burning Love (rehearsal version)
25. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
26. Hurt (take 5)
27. If I Can Dream

Disc 3

1. Dissolution 2 - Mike McCready
2. Satisfied - The Blackwood Brothers
3. That's All Right - Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup
4. She May Be Yours But She Comes To See Me Sometimes - Joe Hill Louis
5. Mystery Train - Little Junior's Blue Flames
6. Smokestack Lightning - Howlin' Wolf
7. Rock-A-My Soul - The Blackwood Brothers
8. Just Walkin' In The Rain - The Prisonaires
9. Rocket 88 - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats
10. Write Me A Letter - The Ravens
11. Blue Moon Of Kentucky - Bill Monroe
12. Ain't That Right - Eddie Snow
13. Just Walkin' In The Rain - Johnnie Ray
14. Lawdy Miss Clawdy – Lloyd Price
15. Home Sweet Home - Gladys Presley
16. Blowin' In The Wind - Odetta
17. Tomorrow Is A Long Time - Odetta
18. The Weight - The Staple Singers
19. Heartbreak Hotel - The Orlons
20. Wooden Heart - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
21. Rebound - Mike McCready

Related artists

Join the conversation by joining the Official Charts community and dropping comment.

Already registered?

Log in

No account?





doesnt he have unreleased track ?




the Re-edition of re-editions of the re-released previously released old trash = money greedy production.


Brian Quinn


Elvis was the greatest artist who ever lived. 'Trash' was not in his DNA.


Brian Quinn


Already ordered.


Guillermo F. Perez-Argüello


Emmy Predictions 2018: Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction
Special Predicted Nominees:

“Andre the Giant”
“Elvis Presley: The Searcher”
“Gaga: Five Foot Two”
“The Zen Diaries of Garry Shandling”
Spoilers: “Baltimore Rising,” “John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls,” “Jonestown: The Women Behind the Massacre,” “Seeing Allred,” “Spielberg,” “Tickling Giants,” “Tiny Shoulders: