Ed Sheeran announces fifth studio album =

Ed's fifth studio album will be released this October.

Ed Sheeran has announced details of his new album = (Equals), which will be released on Friday, October 29.

The megastar singer-songwriter's fifth studio album features 14 tracks including the Number 1 smash Bad Habits, which has reigned over the Official Singles Chart for the past seven weeks.

Ed has also released a new track Visiting Hours to coincide with the album announcement.

MORE: Big albums still to come in 2021

"= is a really personal record and one that means a lot to me," Ed said in a statement. "My life changed greatly over the past few years – I got married, became a father, experienced loss, and I reflect on these topics over the course of the album. I see it as my coming-of-age record, and I can’t wait to share this next chapter with you."

The album title continues Ed's mathematical theming of his records following his 2011 debut +, 2014 follow-up X, and his biggest album to date, 2017's ÷, all of which reached Number 1 on the UK's Official Albums Chart. In between ÷ and =, Ed released his collaborative album No.6 Collaborations Project which also topped the charts.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos)

MORE: 10 incredible chart facts about Ed Sheeran's + album on its 10th anniversary

= has big shoes to fill following ÷'s record-breaking success. ÷ is the UK's fastest-selling album ever by a male solo artist, and the third fastest-selling album of all time behind, Adele’s 25 and Oasis’ Be Here Now. It secured the most first-week streams ever recorded, features more Top 10 singles on it than any other studio album in UK chart history, and had all 16 of its tracks chart concurrently in the Official Singles Chart Top 20.

Ed Sheeran has scored a total of 10 UK Number 1 singles, becoming one of just nine acts to reach double figures, as well as 45 Official Singles Chart Top 40 hits. Find out Ed Sheeran's Official Top 20 biggest songs in the UK.

Ed Sheeran's = tracklisting

1. Tides
2. Shivers
3. First Times
4. Bad Habits
5. Overpass Graffiti
6. The Joker And The Queen
7. Leave Your Life
8. Collide
9. 2step
10. Stop The Rain
11. Love In Slow Motion
12. Visiting Hours
13. Sandman
14. Be Right Now