Bucks Fizz announce their first album in 30 years, but under a new band name

The group have finally made their mind up about releasing their new album.

Eighties pop band Bucks Fizz have announced details of their first album in more than three decades. 

The group will release The F-Z Of Pop - their first record since 1986 - on September 22. The collection has been produced by Mike Stock and is trailed by lead single Dancing In The Rain. 

Mike is one-third of hit making production outfit Stock Aitken Waterman, who helmed a string of hits throughout the '80s for Kylie Minogue, Rick Astley, Mel & Kim, Bananarama and Dead or Alive.

Listen to Dancing In The Rain, which was premiered on Radio 2 this morning (July 1) below:

Because of a legal dispute with former member Bobby G, the group are now known as 'The Fizz'. Regardless, the lineup includes three members of the group who won Eurovision in 1981 with Making Your Mind Up – Cheryl Baker, Jay Aston and Mike Nolan - plus new member Bobby McVay.

"The Fizz are part of British pop heritage," Mike Stock said of working with the group. "They are extraordinary artistes. Still holding the crowd and wowing them! This kind of uplifting entertainment never ages. It was so much fun working with them because they are great performers and we all had a great time making the album. Which is why I'm already planning the next.”

On recording the new album, Cheryl Baker said she was happy to be back in the studio, adding: "My favourite place and with the genius that is Mike Stock. I am so proud of this new album and I know Fizz fans will love it too!”

Mike Nolan added: "It's a long time since we've been in the studio and this, to me, is the best thing we've done. I think everyone sounds great, especially me! Haha!"

Bucks Fizz scored a string of hits across the '80s, including Number 1s Making Your Mind Up, The Land Of Make Believe and My Camera Never Lies, the latter two of which have been remade for their new record. 

MORE: View Bucks Fizz's complete Official Chart history

The F-Z Of Pop album track listing appears below:

1. Up For The Fight
2. Break The Ice
3. Where I’m Gonna Be
4. Home For My Heart
5. Dancing In The Rain
6. Control Freak
7. There’s No Turning Back
8. Amen
9. My Camera Never Lies 2017
10.  Piece Of Action 2017
11. The Land Of Make Believe 2017
12. Up For The Fight (Extended Version)
13. Break The Ice (Extended Version)
14. Piece Of The Action (Extended Version)
15. My Camera Never Lies 2017 (Karaoke Version)

Article image: Ken McKay/ITV/REX/Shutterstock