Ed Sheeran announces UK & Ireland stadium tour dates for 2018

Yup, Ed is visiting Galway. He kind of had to, right?

Fresh from headlining Glastonbury to major praise, Ed Sheeran will hit the road once more in 2018 for an extensive stadium tour.

After completing an arena tour this year, Ed will go one bigger by playing the likes of Manchester Etihad Stadium, Newcastle's St. James Park and London's Wembley Stadium for four nights.

Ed's latest album has proven hugely popular worldwide, but particularly so in Ireland, where his track Galway Girl knocked Shape Of You from Number 1 where it spent four weeks at the top. Ed has responded with six shows in Ireland, including Cork, Dublin and you guessed it, Galway.

MORE: Ed Sheeran's Official Top 10 biggest songs revealed

Tickets for the shows go on sale on Saturday July 8. No weekend lie-ins then!

Ed's latest album ÷ has so far spent 11 weeks at Number 1 on the Official Albums Chart, and is currently amidst a chart battle with fellow Glastonbury performers Radiohead, Foo Fighters, and a new entry from Imagine Dragons for dominance this Friday.

MORE: View Ed Sheeran's full UK chart history - did you know his albums have spent 166 weeks in the Top 10? 

Ed Sheeran's full 2018 UK & Ireland stadium dates are as follows:

Friday May 4 - Páirc Uí Chaoimh - Cork
Saturday May 5 - Páirc Uí Chaoimh - Cork
Wednesday May 9 - Belfast - Boucher Playing Fields
Saturday May 12 - Pearse Stadium - Galway
Sunday May 13 - Pearse Stadium - Galway
Wednesday May 16 - Phoenix Park - Dublin
Friday May 18 - Phoenix Park - Dublin
Thursday May 24 - Manchester - Etihad Stadium
Friday May 25 - Manchester - Etihad Stadium
Saturday May 26 - Manchester - Etihad Stadium
Sunday May 27 - Manchester - Etihad Stadium
Friday June 1 - Glasgow - Hampden Park
Saturday June 2 - Glasgow - Hampden Park
Sunday June 3 - Glasgow - Hampden Park
Friday June 8 - Newcastle - St James' Park
Saturday June 9 - Newcastle - St James' Park
Sunday June 10 - Newcastle - St James' Park
Thursday June 14 - London - Wembley Stadium
Friday June 15 - London - Wembley Stadium
Saturday June 16 - London - Wembley Stadium
Sunday June 17 - London - Wembley Stadium
Thursday June 21 - Cardiff - Principality Stadium
Friday June 22 - Cardiff - Principality Stadium
Saturday June 23 - Cardiff - Principality Stadium
Sunday June 24 - Cardiff - Principality Stadium 

Image: Rex/Shutterstock